home

Newk's Eatery Brookhaven is our Official Picnic Partner! See our special menu and find out how to place an advance order with Newk's. Pick up your food at the theatre - totally convenient!

Much Ado About Nothing
Read what audiences are saying about this beloved romantic comedy!

WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN ANYWHERE ELSE!!

By Tom Reilly
July 3, 2012

My wife Margie and I just had to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary with your production of "Much Ado About Nothing!!"  Great pre-show talk, insightful production, terrific scenery. Can't wait until next time!!

Illyria: a Twelfth Night Musical
Read what audiences are saying about this hilarious musical comedy!

Magical Illyria

By Iris Ray
August 2, 2012

My friends and I came on Sunday afternoon to the matinee, and it was so wonderful we gathered some more friends and came back Tuesday night to see it again.  It was just as exciting and magically the second time.  The performers were top notch; the set was eye-catching and well planned (although when the performers jumped on the benches, it was a little unnerving); the music and energy were excellent.

I'm looking forward to many more trips to this entertaining venue.

 

A terrific performance!

By Steve
July 23, 2012

Illyria was absolutely terrific--the set, the costumes, the music, the actors, everything. As someone who grew up with a Shakespeare Festival and attended almost every play, it was great seeing a musical twist on a great classic. If you think you won't like Shakespeare, you will love this show. The show was well-cast and well-performed. There was a perfect balance of humor, drama, song and dance.


ILLYRIA! Summer 2012's MUST SEE in Atlanta Theater!

By Beth Kline
June 8, 2012

Georgia Shakespeare knocked it out of the park on this show!  We dragged - and I mean DRAGGED - our 14 and 16 year old sons to GS performance last night. By the third song - we were ALL hooked. Great vocals, excellent casting, & suburb acting teamed up with an exotic, visually-textured set and complimenting lighting effects make this the perfect show for families with "tweens" and teens. Adults of all ages enjoyed the retro-music fun and Shakespeare's usual word-play mischief.  OH! How could I not mention the fabulous costumes too? Illyria; a 12th Night Musical was fast-paced and thoroughly engaging!  Great Job GA Shakespeare!

 

First timer

By Becky Wells
June 14, 2012


My first Georgia Shakespeare performance and certainly will not be my last.  It was delightful...an evening of smiles, laughter and satisfying song. We added the Carole Parks picnic and were doubly delighted. Do come-and bring a friend(s).  They will thank you.


Wonderful!

By Laura Winebarger
June 8, 2012

I have been attending Georgia Shakespeare since you began and you never disappoint.  Chris Kayser always amazes me - he is delightful this time around, again!  All the performances were great - the songs just kept getting better as the show went on!  Bravo!


Illyria is addictive

By Karen
July 3, 2012

I attended one of the early performances of Illyria (early June).  it was FANTASTIC!  the music is addictive (love, love, love it!) and the adaptation is brilliant.  my only regret: i could not extend my stay so i attend another performance.  i liked it so much i am planning a trip back to Atlanta (from central Florida) so i can see it again.  Illyria should be on broadway.  why isn't it????

favorite performer:  Travis Smith

favorite song: all of them (can't choose just one; they are all VERY good)
note: (planning my trip based on Illyria performance dates)

 

Illyria

By Terri Zuckerman
June 8, 2012

Loved it.  Where else could I see Arab-esque costumes mingled with country, gospel, blues, rock and tango music?



What a wonderful show!

By Cynthia
June 14, 2012

The voices, choreography, wit/humor and poignancy of moments were just marvelous. Musically, it was fun and so well done. The whole cast looked like it was having fun as well. Thanks for a great evening!


From our Facebook page:

By June Lovenbury Warfield
June 13, 2012

We just got back from seeing "Illyria" and can't stop talking about how wonderful it was! We've been attending the Georgia Shakespeare Festival for twenty years and this is now my all time favorite play. This is a "Must See" for anyone in the Atlanta area!



Pictured for Much Ado: Benedick (Joe Knezevich, left) and Beatrice (Courtney Patterson) engage in a flirtatious battle of wits in Much Ado About Nothing. (Bill DeLoach Photography)
Pictured for Illyria: Feste the jester (Travis Smith) rocks out with Fabian (Eugene H. Russell IV) in Ilyria: a Twelfth Night Musical. (Bill DeLoach Photography)

 

See the 2011 Audience Review Archives

See the 2009 Audience Review Archives

 

Current Box Office Hours:
Monday through Saturday
10 AM to 6 PM (non show days)
10 AM to 8 PM (show days)
Sunday
12 Noon to 6 PM
404.504.1473

Georgia Shakespeare is proud to be a member of The Shakespeare Theatre Association (STA).  For more information visit www.stahome.org.

Site Mailing List  Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 
Georgia Shakespeare

Georgia Shakespeare thanks our Season Sponsors:

        
   
 

       

 

 

 
Wilhelmina D. and John H. Harland Charitable Foundation
 
The Pittuloch Foundation
 


Georgia Shakespeare at Oglethorpe University
4484 Peachtree Road, NE  |  Atlanta, GA 30319


Box Office: 404.504.1473  |  Education: 404.504.3401
  Fax: 404.504.3414